An Anniversary Project {Framing a Wedding Card}

As we just celebrated our 4th anniversary, I thought it fitting to use some frames I recently spray painted to showcase some cool things from our wedding. The first of which was a great, handmade card from our friend!

I’ve kept all of our cards from the wedding and this one was a perfect candidate for framing and adding to our collage wall. If you’ve seen some of the projects I’ve pinned on Pinterest, you know I’m a sucker for a good silhouette. So should you decide to frame/hang anything like your cards from your weddings, or even cool paper cut outs you might have, here are some simple steps and tips.

Step one: get yourself some backing board/mat board, whatever you choose. I happened to have plenty black mat board, and our collage wall is mostly black and white, so this went perfectly.

Step two: measure your board and cut to the dimensions of the frame.

Image

I ended up using the actual back of the frame to determine the size. I’d recommend cutting the mat board slightly smaller, as it might be a bit more dense than the board and you don’t want any bunching. I used both scissors to do fine trimming and an X-acto knife to cut around the oval edges.

Step three: check and recheck your cutting. Make sure, before you begin mounting what you plan to frame, that your mat board will actually fit in the frame itself.

Step four: mount your chosen piece. I first centered, recentered, and triple recentered so that I had the buildings all aligned. I was fortunate that the card was the perfect size for this frame, so I didn’t have to cut it to fit. Then, using some hot glue, I went through and attached the card directly to the mat board. Make sure to start at one edge and continue across, as to create less of a crease or bubbling. You want your paper to be as flat as possible for framing.

Image

How amazingly cute is this card? I mean come on. I made sure that I could center the two people in the middle of the frame. Then, because of the creases, I worked from the left to the right gluing the card to the mat board.

Step five: to save yourself a lot of frustration, make sure the glass and interior of the frame is CLEAN before attempting to frame your piece. This may take a bit of work, but it’ll save you time and annoyance in the long run. I had my mat board perfectly placed, only to find that some of the old paper backing had gotten in front of the frame, plus some dust right on the card. How rude!

Image

Windex, windex, windex!

Step six: frame your piece and enjoy!

Image

I was so happy with the black and white contrast, plus the way the people are framed. It’s a sweet addition to our frame wall and I’m so pleased with how it turned out!

Image

It’s definitely bold and eye catching on the wall. It seems to fit right in with all the other projects and art. Plus, it’s a happy reminder of just four years ago!

I still have one more matching frame to add to this collage wall, but I’m not sure what to put in it! I’m sure that will be another project for another day. As I sign off, I leave you with some questions about your own projects! What creative things have you done with some of your mementos from weddings, birthdays, and other special occasions? Have you framed them? Made cool art projects out of them?

XOXO,

Ashley

Leave a Reply

