Flea Market Find {Using Vintage Fabric}

Hey everyone!
I finally had the time to devote to some minor sewing projects the other day and figured I would share a quick update!

Several weeks ago, I scored some super cute fabric from a flea market. It had the original Lord and Taylor tags on it, but was such an odd size, it was definitely a remnant. For dirt cheap, and because it was certainly my colors, I couldn’t pass it up. Who can say no to vintage, floral fabric? I wasn’t even sure what I could turn it into! But that didn’t matter! I just took the plunge.

After delicately cleaning it and allowing it to air dry, I lightly ironed the edges and let it sit for a while. Eventually, I decided to update the pillows on our bed, moving many of the others into the guest room and making room for new funky pillows. I pulled one of the colors from the print of the vintage fabric and found a perfect, solid color backing fabric. I decided to split the fabric and make two pillows, the length of a sham but narrower in the width.

After measuring, cutting, and pinning the edges, I was ready to sew. These were actually a quick project with my handy dandy sewing machine and I was done in no time. The prep took more time than the actual sewing, of course! I just made a simple form, rather than a cover, filled with polyfil, and sewed up the last hole. What do you think?

20130719-235808.jpg

20130719-235853.jpg

I think they fit right in!

Xoxo,
Ashley

One thought on “Flea Market Find {Using Vintage Fabric}

Leave a Reply

