Another Little Project {Cigar Box Goes Nautical}

I don’t know if you all saw it on my Instagram, or noticed it in the pictures from yesterday’s post about my office, but I’ve got a new little storage box to share! This guy was bound for the trash. I heard him about to be thrown away and stopped his impending demise. When asked what I was going to do with it, of course my response was, “Well I do have a lot of shells to use…”

 

And so I did.

First: the supplies. I collected many capiz shells and had them stored in one of my many mason jars. Then I got one special shell (with an imprint of a starfish) and  my glue gun.

First: the supplies. I collected many capiz shells and had them stored in one of my many mason jars. Then I got one special shell (with an imprint of a starfish) and my glue gun.

 

I covered the top in shells, progressively adding and making sure there weren't any holes. This required several layers.

I covered the top in shells, progressively adding and making sure there weren’t any holes. This required several layers. And yes, this does look a bit junky right now. Just be patient with me, okay?

 

Just a little side view. My original plan was to cover the whole thing in capiz shells. I didn't really think I'd like the finished product that way, so I grabbed some of my left over beige craft paint.

Just a little side view. My original plan was to cover the whole thing in capiz shells. I didn’t really think I’d like the finished product that way, so I grabbed some of my left over beige craft paint. This way, it was a bit “top heavy” and I wouldn’t have to worry about the tricky sides.

 

I made sure to carefully paint around the gold hardware (it was just too cute to cover with beige). I even covered under the edges.

I made sure to carefully paint around the gold hardware (it was just too cute to cover with beige). I even covered under the edges of the shells so that the original wood color wasn’t showing ANYWHERE.

 

I also gave the inside of the box a good painting. It still smells of cigars, but hey, that gives it some charm, right?

I also gave the inside of the box a good painting. It still smells of cigars, but hey, that gives it some charm, right? Don’t you just love the office wall paint under my cuticles? I see a manicure in my future…

 

And for your viewing pleasure, a few detail shots.

And for your viewing pleasure, a few detail shots.

 

It’s currently acting as my “change box” where I throw all those extra coins I just don’t want to carry around. From afar, you could barely tell that it was on my desk.

 

deskpic

This project cost me….drum roll please…. $0. I had every supply already so I didn’t need to purchase a thing. Gotta love those little crafts that keep your wallet intact.

 

XOXO,
Ashley

Leave a Reply

