A Bit Obsessed {Metallic Everything}

Hey all,

So I have a problem. A problem with wanting everything to be metallic. Silver, brass, gold! I want it all! But with my discovery of the greatest invention (Sharpie Oil Based Paint Markers), I couldn’t stop myself. I originally purchased the metallic gold marker to finish off my tile coaster projects. I figured that it would be a waste not to use it as much as possible and I had several, still attached clam pairs that could use a bit of a makeover. So why not color them gold?

Though the natural coloring is pretty, I think laying these guys around the house or in jars will be more grabby with the gold.

Though the natural coloring is pretty, I think laying these guys around the house or in jars will be more grabby with the gold.

 

They’re pretty easy to complete. Get yourself some shells and at least one of the markers. I ended up running out and getting the fine point one as well, for all those nooks and crannies that the larger tip just won’t cover up the original shell color. Because it’s a paint marker, they cover pretty well with just one coat, but I would recommend that you let them dry and then double check that everything got covered. Once you do, sit back and enjoy your beautiful metallic shells.

Just sitting pretty. They're so shiny, I just love the finish that the markers gave the shells.

Just sitting pretty. They’re so shiny, I just love the finish that the markers gave the shells.

 

 

Finished product: gorgeous clam shells dripping (or well, colored) in gold.

Finished product: gorgeous clam shells dripping (or well, colored) in gold.

 

So, this project may be tedious in making sure that all the little bits get covered, but I’m definitely happy I did them!

 

XOXO,

Ashley

Leave a Reply

