A Little White Pop {Adding to Our Living Space}

Hey all,

For awhile, we’ve been living with a big hole in our lives. You know, we were sans couch table! After we got our much larger TV for the bedroom (to match the massive bed and massive art piece from this post), it needed a home. I moved our lovely IKEA console table up to the bedroom for the perfect fit. But this perfect fit left a perfectly large hole in our living room. Now, let’s have some honesty time. When I decided to move that table, I kidded myself thinking that we wouldn’t need anything behind the couch. This proved to be very wrong. Because of the layout of our house, and the minimal space for our formal living room, we can only have one side table with out couch. So if you want to rest your glass somewhere, or god forbid a plate (YES WE EAT ON THE COUCH), there isn’t space to do so without that lovely console table. So, while rummaging through my parents basement, I eyed this lovely little table.

Okay, so it needed some love. But it was acting as minimal storage in their unfinished part of their basement. I figured I would offer to take it off their hands.

Okay, so it needed some love. But it was acting as minimal storage in their unfinished part of their basement. I figured I would offer to take it off their hands.

Yes, it looks a bit sad. Yes, it’s not typically our style. It has these beautiful carvings on the the side and the legs are a bit more ornate than I would traditionally lean towards, but something grabbed me. Plus, I’m a sucker for family history and this piece was one of my great grandmother’s. Knowing this made me need to have it even more. I took it home, plopped it under our deck IMMEDIATELY, and got to work. And as a spray paint junkie, it shouldn’t be a surprise that I had not only two cans of primer for this little lady, but also a full can of white, matte paint. I originally thought that I would paint it black, or a glossy white, which makes it much easier to disguise the ugly notes and quickly revamp the piece. But you know what? The black would have been a mistake. We don’t have anything else painted black in that room and it would have looked like I was trying to hard to mask problems and match it to the existing pieces. The gloss also would have been off putting, making it stand out way more than we wanted it to.

562509_639383752774_90183590_n

Look at those legs! This is the perfect little table. So happy to have it.

So after the two coats primer and a good coating of the white, it was ready to go into its new home. And then I realized, maybe it was too big! Ah! Would I actually like it there? It was wider than I really expected. I left it there, let it grow on me, and just today accessorized the little lady. And we’re in love again. She’s just perfect.

I moved the lamp from the side table to the new table. Now our engagement scrapbook has a proper home and there is still plenty of room for several coasters for drinks.

I moved the lamp from the side table to the new table. Now our engagement scrapbook has a proper home and there is still plenty of room for several coasters for drinks. If you look really hard to you can see that I finally added the gold accents to those tile coasters. A little gold is always good.

 

So overall, a great decision. She’s happy, I’m happy, so we’re one happy household. So what have you been up to? Spray painting pieces? Accessorizing the house? Let me know!

 

XOXO,

Ashley

2 thoughts on “A Little White Pop {Adding to Our Living Space}

Leave a Reply

