Old Jars Make Desk Storage {Rust Goes Beachy Chic}

Just a quick little post!

I recently picked up these two adorable jars at a vintage sale.

These jars are the cutest. They have great, thick glass.

These jars are the cutest. They have great, thick glass.

They used to be jelly jars and they have a nice, rust to their tops.

I originally thought that I would cover up these rusted tops. I would pick the toppers and then spray the whole shabang. But then I realized...

I originally thought that I would cover up these rusted tops. I would pick the toppers and then spray the whole shabang. But then I realized…

 

Wouldn’t it be cool to embrace the rusty, vintage nature of the jars, rather than cover them up? And so I did. I also decided to go that way with the shells I glued on top. I must have tried four different pairings. Started with beautifully perfect shells, but it just seemed wrong. Then I moved to smaller, tulip conch shells, but they were too colorful and intact. This went on for awhile. So then I realized, I really needed to embrace the old, rustic charm. I plopped a piece of coral that was coming apart and another conch. This time the conch was covered in barnacles and age holes, pretty roughed up. They fit PERFECTLY. I couldn’t be happier with how these two little jars turned out. A little hot glue and drying time, and now I have two super cute jars.

What a great pair. I love the texture, age, and beauty of them both. They're going to look awesome on my desk.

What a great pair. I love the texture, age, and beauty of them both. They’re going to look awesome on my desk.

And what, you may ask, would even fit in these tiny jars that you fretted over? Well, I think they’re perfect for my tonnage of paperclips and binder clips.

 

See? They already look great on my desktop, holding exactly what I need.

See? They already look great on my desktop, holding exactly what I need.

 

So what do you think? This project was under $6 with the jars and the shells. I’m a sucker for office organization, containers, and shells, so this was right in my wheel house.

 

XOXO,

Ashley

Leave a Reply

