A Plan Full of Sand {Redoing My Office}

Hey all,

Maybe it was the beach trip, or my obsession with the sea, but I’ve finally decided what to do with my office. I’ve been working on different little projects to use in my office (like the seashells), and I’ve decided to go nautical for my office. It’s comforting, casual, and a perfect style for a small room like my office. I’ve even gone so far as to make a Pinterest board with ideas. Here are a few of my pinned ideas, some of which may have to wait until I have plenty of time to devote to the cause.

IMG_4408

These frames are very driftwood inspired. They’d look great with either some nature shots from the beach or just happy snapshots. Plus, the prices aren’t awful for great frames (at Target: $16.99 for the large, $12.99 for the small). 

 

IMG_4403

This might be taking it a bit too literally, but I love the shape of these ceramic replica urchins. They suggest using these as candle holders, but I think they would look great on my white desk with pencils and markers (Target again, thanks Threshold, $16.99 for the big, $5.99 for the small).

 

IMG_4405

A little sea glass never hurt anyone, right? The color might not be right for these guys, but I definitely like the style and shape. Maybe if they were just plain, clear glass (Target, $19.99 and $14.99).

 

IMG_4411

Might not be completely beach inspired but here me out. I love peg boards and pin boards, obviously. I also love a subtle chevron and Nate Berkus. So a couple of these on a wall will add texture and interest to my ever full idea wall.

 

IMG_4440

Another possibly too literal beach-themed option. I found this urchin lamp at TjMaxx for $30. He’s adorable and I love the burlap-textured lampshade. I didn’t buy him, but I am getting a twinge of regret for not taking him with me.

 

Screen shot 2013-03-30 at 10.49.55 AM

I might have to do a treatment of white, peeling paint on some of the furniture in my office. Make it look more weathered and aged by the sea.

 

The biggest change for the office will be the wall color. It's currently a sad, dirty green from the previous owners. This is the perfect shade of blue-green, San Clemente Teal 730 (Benjamin Moore).

The biggest change for the office will be the wall color. It’s currently a sad, dirty green from the previous owners. This is the perfect shade of blue-green, San Clemente Teal 730 (Benjamin Moore).

So, too themey? Maybe. But you don’t have to work there, I do! And I always seem to find peace by the sea. That means an office with a sea theme is in my future. What do you think? Plus, I may have already started some sea themed projects for the room-to-be…you’ll just have to wait for the tutorial on those!

 

XOXO,

Ashley

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Plan Full of Sand {Redoing My Office}

Leave a Reply

