She Sells Seashells {Metallic Seashells}

Hey all!

We had a touch of spring weather this weekend and I took full advantage of the sunshine. Not only did we get Truman out for plenty of extra outside time (I type as he sleeps happily by my feet), I got out and about around town, refused to just lounge, and got almost everything completed on my to-do list. There’s always going to be a few things that carry over to next weekend, but I’m getting better at letting that be okay…or…well I’m trying at least.

Anyway, there’s a pin on my Pinterest DIY board that I’ve been thinking about for months and I finally took the initiative to get it done this weekend. I originally found the idea on one of my favorite blogs, Young House Love, and knew that I needed to do it myself. Shells are my thing. I love the ocean and I love being seaside. Every chance I get to visit the beach, I take full advantage. I’m fortunate to have grandparents who stay almost half the year in Florida on the Gulf side, so we always take an early morning trip to shell and find great sea surprises. This also means that I have a copious amount of shells and coral at my disposal, much to the chagrin of my family members who have stored them for me over the years. So I really needed to do something with them. We don’t have a nautical style in the house, but you know me and my love of anything glossy and shiny, why not make an awesome filler with the shells! I searched high and low for the best “metallic” spray paint and came upon Krylon Original Chrome spray paint in our local Michaels. It seemed like the best bet for a metallic finish, based mostly upon the descriptors on the can (“resembles metal plating,” “lustrous finish”). It is definitely at a premium price, almost $7 for a smaller can, but it did the trick. I placed all of my to-be-sprayed shells on a piece of cardboard and got to work.

Make sure that you give each shell enough space. Depending on the type of shell, the weight can vary tremendously. This means that when you're spraying the smaller clam shells, they tend to move and shift on the cardboard, so you don't want them to roll onto another shell and ruin the finish.

Make sure that you give each shell enough space. Depending on the type of shell, the weight of each can vary tremendously. This means that when you’re spraying the smaller clam shells, they tend to move and shift on the cardboard, so you don’t want them to roll onto another shell and ruin the finish.

And just in case you DON’T follow my Vine feed, I posted a lovely 6-second video to show you my spraying skills. It works out best for the finish to give each side at least two light coats. Make sure you’re covering all the little nooks (or in my case, barnacles). I did both coats on one side, gave them more than an hour to dry, then flipped them to do the opposite side of the shell. Now if I had any apothecary jars, it would be a no-brainer to display these lovely things in one. Because my glassware collection is lacking apothecary jars, I currently have my new metallic shell collection in a large glass bowl.

Look at them all together, happily resting in the bowl.

Look at them all together, happily resting in the bowl.

 

IMG_4158

I love that they actually look like metal shells.

 

IMG_4147

These are probably my favorites. I’m a sucker for awesome textures and the spray paint really made these shells pop.

 

So what do you think? Other than the time and effort collecting all these shells or the drying time between coats, it’s a simple project that you can complete within an afternoon. And since they’re beauties from the sea, the only real cost was the can of spray paint (which I still have plenty of…what to metallizes NOW!?).

 

XOXO,

Ashley

One thought on “She Sells Seashells {Metallic Seashells}

  1. Pingback: On Display, On Display, On Display {Shadowboxes for the Office} | Mid-Century Mod Podge

Leave a Reply

