So They Can’t All Be Successful {Jewelry DIY Fail}

So, it’s happened. I’ve fallen into a project failure funk. A few weekends ago, while I was still on break from teaching, I came down with the dreaded flu. I thought the coast was clear, I’d been home for a week and hadn’t been sick at all! Then, the weekend before returning to work, it happened. Aches, fever, sneezing, coughing, headache, fatigue, the whole sha-bang.

Needless to say, after a couple of days feeling badly for myself, I decided to get out of bed (and onto the couch). I was bored. AND I couldn’t eat much of anything outside of soups. I decided that I needed to keep myself busy during this germy pity party with a project. I had started this washer necklace while watching Pitch Perfect, but was obviously not focused enough to complete the project. Let’s be honest, how can you focus on anything OTHER than Pitch Perfect.

Anyway, the picture tutorial looked easy enough. What could go wrong, right?

Doesn't it look easy? Just weave in, under, out. Continue to repeat...

Doesn’t it look easy? Just weave in, under, out. Continue to repeat…

 

Maybe it’s my inability to follow directions well, or my horrible need to try and do it without really reading the directions, but it just didn’t work. This tutorial, jewelry making, and I are not friends right now.

Yup, not supposed to look like that.

Yup, not supposed to look like that.

This is the best I could do, even after many, many attempts. I couldn’t decide if it was my inability to follow directions, my ribbon being a stiffer fabric, or it really just not being meant to be. Plus, let’s be real. The gorgeous blogger who created the tutorial is a jewelry maker (go look at her blog here and her etsy store here). Who am I kidding? Why would I be able to make that! Maybe I’ll try this again…someday. I’ll just reread the directions and continue to be frustrated. Could it be that I’m just not that coordinated? This is completely possible. Anywho, as I stare at my heap of ribbon and bag of washers, I figured I would share this DIY fail. Let’s all do a big old WOMP WOMP (sad horn) for this attempt.

 

XOXO,

Ashley

 

PS- Yes, I’m a teacher and I don’t read directions so well. It’s a problem I’ve been working to remedy!

Leave a Reply

