Hole in the Wall {Literally}

In my last post, I described my fear and concern upon seeing the holes left in the wall by our old bathroom light fixture.

Good golly, what do you do with that anyway?

So I already knew I needed to repair some holes in S’s office, which were about a year old and from a botched attempt to hang his guitars. I figured this was a good a time as any to get “hole and crack fixings” from LOWES. Plus, S politely mentions this holes from time to time, mostly because he never wanted me to try and hang the guitars in the first place. Oh well, you live, you learn, right?

I ran on over to our local store and went straight to the paint aisle, hoping to find my absolute fix. And truthfully, I did pretty well! I found a $10 “fix it on your own” box that included the drywall tape, the mixture to cover the hole, the putty knife, and a sanding bar to use pre- and post-hole fill. The three-step directions were right on the box.

First, sand the hole to make sure you have a nice, flat surface. Second, take adhesive back off of tape and center over hole/crack. Third, using the compound, cover the hole so that you have a nice, smooth covering. Allow to dry and sand until wall is smooth.

If I can do it, anyone can do it. For real.

Even this guy got covered by the tape. It took a little fiddling with the tape, but the hole is all covered now!

Look Ma, no holes!

Now, I just need to find a paint match for the bathroom. The previous owners were nice enough to mark all the left over paint gallons with each room they belong to, yet failed to leave any of the half bathroom’s paint. What a bummer. My hope is that when I have someone (my parent’s painter) come over to help hang our mega monster of a mirror, he can use his super duper painter eye and give me a good guess out of my fan deck. We’ll just have to see! Until then, I’m going to be staring at that unsightly rectangle behind our nice, new fixture.

XOXO,

Ashley

Leave a Reply

